Miele S5211

Posted in Quick by Sandra on July 23, 2009

I got a vacuum cleaner!

It’s the Miele S5211, a bagged vacuum with six levels of suction (and noise levels). I’ve been hankering after a vacuum cleaner for months now (ever since the BF’s Hoover Bagless 2000w died), and did my research. The Miele is $429 RRP, but we got it (after a haggling for 5 seconds) for $311!

I chose a bagged vacuum because suction power is “renewed” after each bag change. Reviews of bagged vacuums consistently praise their amazing suction no matter how old it is, as long as bags are changed when they’re full. On the other hand, bagless vacuums (like Dysons) tend to lose their suction after a few years. It’s a bit of a hit or miss situation, but why take the risk? After all the vacuuming I’ve done (and believe me, there was a lot of … stuff … to be vacuumed, both in the house and the car) my bag isn’t even 1/5 full yet!

This particular model of the Miele didn’t come with a turbo brush, but I thought that’s fine for now. Unlike in our previous residence, this house has only 1 carpeted area – and that’s the bedroom. The rest is all cold, unloving hardwood… and what seems to be laminated vinyl in the kitchen. A bit of elbow grease gets the carpet clean enough!

So far, I’m working on trying to vacuum the boys with it, particularly Dion as he sheds so much more (visibly, too!) than zlinky Zac. I mean slinky. I need to take a video to explain the zlinkiness. But back onto vacuuming them, yeah, I’m failing. I’ve once managed to get the vacuum cleaner right next to Zac while he was on the couch, but then the BF came into the living room and he took the opportunity to get away.

Just you wait, my slinky shedding dogs…

I’ve had a lot of fun with the vacuum. As I told the BF a few days ago, I was actually trying to think up reasons/excuses to vacuum! That’s a really bad crush on a vacuum cleaner… But hopefully, he’ll serve me for years to come.

Smooth like a baby's bottom.

Smooth like a baby's bottom.

Capri Blue - that's the colour.

Capri Blue - that's the colour.

Up close and ... sigh, I need a macro lens :(

Up close and ... sigh, I need a macro lens :(

I think I might name him.. Mielo! And it’s a he because I refuse to stand for the feminine stereotype of doing housework!

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Murloc said, on July 26, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    So… you names him a male so as to not contribute to the stereotype of a woman doing the housework…. … … And all this from a WOMAN who just blogged about her new vacuum cleaner!

    Rest assured that Feminism has definately moved a step forward with your distinction :p


Leave a comment