Preliminary Musings on Being a Cheapskate

Posted in Thoughts by Sandra on July 29, 2009

For some reason I’ve been wanting to cook rather than eat out, and bake rather than buy from the bakery. Dear friends, fear not that I may be becoming a real hausfrau just because I’ve named my wonderful Miele vacuum Mielo (gee, real leap of imagination there) and am now making an obsession out of collecting food blogs and compiling recipes in a database of sorts.

I’m just trying to be frugal, and apparently it’s quite encouraged in this dreadful economy. After all, if paying less for same item means having to toss out less packaging, why not?

Apart from tracking our household bills in a spreadsheet and keeping track of spending via one of the BF’s iPhone applications, I’ve also gotten it into my head to bake these wonderful little muffins. (I also cooked dinner the other night, but that’s another story.)

I’ve gone prowling through the shelves of supermarkets and through the mazes of online catalogues to find out where I can buy the supplies for baking the cheapest.

Australia has four major supermarkets – Coles, Woolworths Safeway, Aldi, IGA. (IGA isn’t exactly a supermarket, I think, it’s usually a local franchise which is voluntarily part of the association.)

Turns out Aldi is the cheapest, followed by Safeway and IGA in a tie, and finally Coles is the most expensive of the lot.

I would post exact information but I used another recipe to do the price tracking. I’ll edit this entry again after the shopping trip this weekend.

We used to live really close to Safeway (10 minutes’ walk), but now we’re closer to the local IGA (also 10 minutes’ walk). It’s pretty small, but adequate for the need to grab milk or eggs quickly. The bacon master (BF) has also noted that bacon is of better quality from Safeway. It also means that if I want to have a variety of produce to choose from, I need the BF for a quick ride to at least the closest “Supa IGA” which is about 15 minutes away on bike. And I’m notoriously lazy when it comes to going to places for my food.

However, I think it’d be worthwhile if it means we can save up to 40% of our grocery bill if it means going a few minutes further to the cheapest supermarket!

Leave a Reply

