LOTD: Disable Auto-Repair For More Info

Posted in Uncategorized by Sandra on December 10, 2009

LOTD = Lesson of the Day (which is, for today, “Disable Auto-Repair for more information about the problem”)

I had quite a nasty shock last night when I logged out of Ubuntu and booted into Windows 7… Or tried to, anyway. Each time, I was slapped in the face with a cold “Startup Repair could not repair this computer automatically”. Since I had to go into the office the next day, I decided to let the matter rest… for the moment.

(Obviously that strategy did not agree with me because I then had a dream about being in a war zone where the invaders were headquartered in a condominium and my people decided that the safest place was to find an empty unit right above these people…)

However, I am home now, and 2 hours later I had the problem fixed. It was so simple, I die inside a little time every time I think that I should have done Step 1 immediately.
Step 1: Boot from Windows DVD. Open a terminal. Type this in:

bcdedit /set {default} recoveryenabled no

Step 2: Reboot.

Step 3: Take note of error. For me, it showed that

\Windows\SysWOW64\drivers\PxHelp20.sys

was causing the error, being either corrupt or missing.

Step4: Find a way to rename file to .sys.bak – I used my Ubuntu installation for this, getting to that file with GUI.

Step 5: Reboot. Now, it should boot properly! Yay!

However, at this point I noticed that my CD drive is not working. It is seen and recognized in Device Manager, but with the yellow triangle exclamation mark icon.

Step 6: You should do a back-up of your regedit. To be honest, I didn’t do it, and don’t know how to.

Step 7: Get into regedit – Start > regedit.

Step 8: Navigate your way to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}.

Step 9: Select “UpperFilters” – right click and delete it.

Step 10: Select “LowerFilters” – delete it too. ** Do not delete UpperFiltersBak or LowerFiltersBak if you have them!

Step 11: Close regedit and reboot.

Tadah! Now, everything works before whatever it was fucked your machine up! :>

Leave a Reply

