Raspberry Lemon Muffins

Posted in Baking by Sandra on August 3, 2009

I baked on Sunday, and it was fantastic. I’d to borrow a close friend’s electric mixer (“Watch out for splatter!”) and buy a new muffin pan because the old one seems to have disappeared in the move.

According to my calculations, the whole lot of muffins cost me $7.87, including muffin cups! Keep in mind that several of the ingredients still have leftovers I can use for another batch (ie, flour, baking powder, buttermilk). I foresee much baking this week… and the start of another frenzied research phase for an electric mixer of my own.

I didn’t have to buy sugar, lemons, salt, and vanilla extract as we had them in the kitchen already, whew!

Still can’t believe how cheap they are, especially if you take into consideration that a muffin here costs $2.50… Each muffin only cost me 65c to make.

I just realized what I typed… 60c, $2.50…

Anyways, the recipe I used came from Smitten Kitchen.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

As we are the sort of people who “go all out” for our food (when we do make it), we got fresh strawberries and blueberries… way better than frozen! :) And the lemons? Freshly picked from the tree in the backyard!

It was fantastically delish! (It’s not a real word.)

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

The BF was not a big fan of lemon, but said they were very yummy nonetheless. Especially the blueberry ones… because he’s fickle that way.

I would send one to you Trish, but I doubt that the muffin’d last interstate! And you lot in Singapore can forget about getting your hands on this unless you fly over. :P

I made 12 muffins, half of which are strawberries and the other half are blueberries.

Four muffins went to the friend who lent me the mixer, one was consumed as a tester muffin, two were great desserts and one was nommed for this morning’s after-brekkie snack!

We now have four left… Hmmm!

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Peiya said, on August 6, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Some bangin’ muffins you got there, ho hyeahhh…

    Hey i didn’t know you can bake!

  2. Trisha said, on August 10, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    I thought you said you couldnt cook, are you hiding something from us??

  3. Peiya said, on August 19, 2009 at 12:47 am

    Your latest entry is so…geeky, so i’m reading this one again and damn i want some of those muffins! :(


Leave a Reply

