Music and Change

Posted in Music by Sandra on April 28, 2009

You see, the thing about music is simply the fact that it changes as you grow. New insights, new meanings that emerge with more experience in life, and of course new tastes.

Take today for example: System of a Down.

I remember the first song I heard from them was Lonely Day and it was fantastic. Then Emmanuel tossed me a second song which totally turned me off that band. Till this day (well, a few hours ago anyway) I thought that they weren’t quite as good as I thought… until The Murloc clued me in. He played some tracks for me and I was pretty stunned. So I’d just spent about half an hour searching for That Song which turned me off SOAD and guess what?

I couldn’t find it.

When I was in my secondary school years, I mostly listened to Japanese pop. Dare I say that I even despised English? I had English pegged as the inflexible, unfeeling language. Kind of ironic considering that my command of the English language is heaps better than my mother tongue and my dialect. Ouch. But now when I look at my brother (who blasts Japanese pop/anime music) I can only think about how… well, childish, it seems. After all, it’s not like you understand it, do you, in the little intricate ways that the native speakers of Japanese do?

Tagged with: , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Py said, on April 28, 2009 at 1:13 am

    I know, right… Guilty of the above too, can you believe i actually attended 5566s concert LOL. So embarassing! Anyway keep updating, i love reading your blog

    • Sandra said, on April 28, 2009 at 1:14 am

      Thank god your tastes have… grown up?
      HAHAHAHAHHAA

      There must’ve been a reason why you even went in the first place… Free ticket is a good excuse.

  2. Py said, on April 28, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Sandra i’m close to tears now, you know why? :’)

    Cos… cos you believed in me and my tastes. Yeah actually it was free ticket BUT, i sorta dig it that time. Aaaaah embarassing times 1 hundredddd


Leave a Reply

