Watts Cooking

Posted in Food by Sandra on March 21, 2009

147 Union Rd
Surrey Hills VIC 3127 (map)
Phone (03) 9890 6268

Watts Cooking

Watt’s Cooking is a cosy little cafe tucked away in Surrey Hills not far from my place (about 10~15min drive) in the eastern suburbs. We go there every weekend for brekky (on weekends they serve breakfast til about 3pm!). And then sometimes on weekdays too, just because we feel like it (and can afford it on that day…)

Decor

Paintings on wall

The decor is simple, the service swift and full of smiles, and the food divine. As The Murloc says, he’s “never had a bad meal there, ever.” Every time we eat breakfast at another place (usually because we’re eating with friends), I always find myself quietly comparing the quality of food, and Watts Cooking always comes out tops.

Did I mention what a brilliant name it is too? Watts Cooking, What’s Cooking?

It is a small cafe from the front but there’s a decent-sized courtyard out the back, but we’ve never sat there. Indoors, it does get extremely noisy, and sometimes I have to strain to hear others speak. It is a very child-friendly establishment and dog-friendly too. When we bring Dion we sit out in the front along the footpath, and the wait-staff often brings a water bowl without us even asking for one.

I love this cafe.

As I told Josh, after cultivating my liking of cafe breakfasts like this, I can’t afford to be a starving artsy eccentric…

Well, better to let pictures speak for themselves. I took the following pictures last month (February), but have been dragging my feet on posting them up.

Big Brekky
The Murloc’s Big Brekky, eggs scrambled with a side of hollandaise sauce
Eggs Benedict
My Eggs Benedict with button mushrooms!
3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. vystique said, on March 22, 2009 at 1:20 am

    You just left Mel helpless and drooling with those pics.

  2. Py said, on March 22, 2009 at 6:26 am

    I’m hungry now

  3. BeanHunter « 听 said, on April 6, 2009 at 10:57 am

    […] the Beanhunter community. My cafe, Watts Cooking (reviewed on my blog for their amazing breakfast here), was not yet reviewed, but I would expect to see it soon considering that someone already has […]


Leave a Reply

