To Be Or Not To Be

Posted in Thoughts by Sandra on February 27, 2008

I want to join the Student Council. Or rather, I wanted to – after reading of the general process of the election process. Aside from meeting the usual criteria,  for example, a certain amount of GPA, you would also have to garner votes from the student body for your election. Quite unlike the so-called student councils of secondary schools where the teacher’s word was law. Of course I shouldn’t expect any lesser, it is university after all… but then a part of me shrivels up and dies with the thought of having to garner votes.

I’m not charismatic, nor do I have any talent or skill. My leadership skills have always been on the clumsy side, and I don’t know enough to be a leader. The Student Council manages people – the entire study body, that is. And I don’t have the connections nor the sensibilities of a social creature, to prowl within the various circles of the community. That is to say, I am extremely sure that few, if any, would vote for me.

I want to make a difference. I want to change how things are. I want to represent the student body… yet how can I claim to represent them when I cannot speak their lingo? How can I change things when I am usually confused most of the time? How can I make a difference if I don’t know how to?

Fancy words aside, I cannot imagine why would anyone vote for me.

Perhaps caution should be left indoors, and I should just try and run for Council anyway… but at the same time, that is the fastest way to crush my low self-esteem… and I’m not sure if I’m ready for that just yet.

The cake is a lie. The cake is a lie. The cake is a lie…

Leave a Reply

