Letting It Go

Posted in Letters (Old) by Sandra on October 3, 2007

‘Yes, I’m over you,’ he said. ‘I’ve moved on. You need to, too. I cared, but now I’m starting to think I shouldn’t have.’Today she called him – a foolish, brash move – and questioned him. And then she cried again, even though she tried not to let him hear. Then the connection was cut.

She called him back.  ‘Anything else to say?’

‘No. You?’

A silence, then.

‘No.’

‘Okay. Bye.’

He hung up.

~~~~~~~~

I’m not so strong as you, nor so busy. I’m not so “heartless”, either. I just wanted another chance, for all those sacrifices I made. I was the one who moved out, who had to work for a living for a while. Granted, we both put in the money to call, but I called you more often in my opinion. I know nothing I say now will change your mind about the decision, but I just hope that tomorrow, you will give me some moments to properly end it.

Goodbye, my lover. My best friend, my everything for a year and a half.

There’s only so much I can take
And I just got to let it go
And who knows I might feel better
If I don’t try and I don’t hope

The Corrs; What Can I Do

Leave a Reply

